Christoph Kramer’s yellow card rescinded after opponent admits to slip


In a sport where diving and playacting is, sadly, very much old hat by now, Paderborn’s Stefan Kutschke provided a breath of fresh air this weekend.

During Saturday’s Bundesliga match vs Borussia Moenchengladbach, Kutschke drew a yellow card on Christoph Kramer after seemingly getting tripped up by the World Cup star on a counter-attack.

Only it wasn’t a foul. Not even close, actually:

To Kutschke’s credit, even though it certainly looks like he was diving here, the Paderborn forward immediately went over to the referee and explained that he “slipped” rather than gotten fouled. As such, the referee wiped the yellow card off the books and restarted play with a drop ball.

Score one for fair play!


Image provided by Getty


This is what happens when fair play goes horribly wrong

It’s common practice for a team to kick the ball out of bounds when an opponent is injured, and then for an opposing player to return it to them. They teach that to you when you’re a kid: play fair. 

It’s usually a straight-forward event, and the match continues without further incident.

But sometimes this courteous gesture goes, horribly, terribly wrong:

And because this happened in the 90th minute of the match, Polonia Warsaw wasn’t able to continue the fair play tradition and walk the ball back into their own net (though, to be fair, it wasn’t really their fault the keeper was daydreaming).

Welcome to the blooper reel, Blekitni Gabin goalkeeper. You’ll be on it forever.

(H/T SB Nation)


Fair play: Bremen’s Aaron Hunt rejects penalty

In a game where diving to win penalties is as commonplace a practice as it is obnoxious and disgraceful, Werder Bremen’s Aaron Hunt offered a refreshing alternative: telling the truth!

With Bremen up 2-0 over Nurnberg on Saturday, Hunt was awarded a penalty when the referee thought Javier Pinola had tripped the Bremen winger. Pinola turned away steaming, but before any of his teammates could plead their case to the referee, Hunt came clean. After admitting he wasn’t fouled, the official reversed his decision, Hunt got a couple pats on the back, and Bremen, perhaps aided by the good karma, saw out the win.

By the way, what is it with Germans being so nice all the time now? Just a year ago, Miroslav Klose similarly corrected a referee decision and had a Lazio goal called back because he used his hand in the process:


Saudi Arabian Premier League offers daily dose of sportsmanship

When a match doesn’t go as desired, fans and coaches often use referees as scapegoats. On the whole, though, we’d say that refs are good at doing their jobs.

That said, what in the world was the referee in this Saudi Arabian Premier League match between Al Nahda and Al Ittihad thinking? Fortunately for all of us, the players on the field restored faith in humanity after this farce. Let’s set the scene.

Al Nahdha keeper Taisir Al Antaif lines up to start play but notices his shoe is untied. This is a problem, because he’s wearing gloves from the Mickey Mouse collection. Enter: Jobson, Al Ittihad’s striker with a heart of gold.

In the vein of good sportsmanship, Jobson notices the dilemma and ties Al Antaif’s shoe for him. The two exchange a high five and the game, tied 2-2, continues.

Then the referee intervenes. He blows the whistle for Al Antiaf taking too long to star play, thus giving Al Ittihad a free kick in a very dangerous area.

Safe to say that everyone in the entire stadium, Al Ittihad fans included, think the decision is a dubious one … to put it nicely. But in the continued spirit of sportsmanship, Al Ittihad just harmlessly pushes the ball out of bounds for a goal kick. Talk about fair play.

Final score line: Benevolence 2, Miserliness 1.

(h/t LiveLeak)


Now, we’ve all seen a ref hand out a yellow or red card during a match. After all, them’s the rules! Here’s one for you though, a referee handing out a blue (yes, BLUE) card.

Apparently, a blue card is handed out for fair play during a game. Fast forward to the end of the video to see the card handed out during this Greek amateur league match.

Should divers be fined? FOX Soccer’s Match Day gang debate what should be done to eradicate diving from the beautiful game.
Chime in.