Dutch side Feyenoord allegedly scored a very controversial goal off a throw-in during Thursday’s Europa League clash against Standard Liege.
Sven van Beek was officially credited with the goal, but it’s tough to tell whether or not he got a definitive touch on the ball. From our angle, it looks as though Miquel Nelom’s throw-in didn’t touch anyone before bouncing off the ground and over goalkeeper Eiji Kawashima’s head. Per FIFA rules, that would be an illegal goal:
However, the goal stood and gave Feyenoord a 1-0 lead. The Dutch went on to win the Group G bout by a singe goal, 2-1, so needless to say the decision proved very decisive.
So what do you think? Was it a goal? Or should it not have counted?
H/T Daily Mail
Images provided by Getty