Fair play: Bremen’s Aaron Hunt rejects penalty

March 9th, 2014

In a game where diving to win penalties is as commonplace a practice as it is obnoxious and disgraceful, Werder Bremen’s Aaron Hunt offered a refreshing alternative: telling the truth!

With Bremen up 2-0 over Nurnberg on Saturday, Hunt was awarded a penalty when the referee thought Javier Pinola had tripped the Bremen winger. Pinola turned away steaming, but before any of his teammates could plead their case to the referee, Hunt came clean. After admitting he wasn’t fouled, the official reversed his decision, Hunt got a couple pats on the back, and Bremen, perhaps aided by the good karma, saw out the win.

By the way, what is it with Germans being so nice all the time now? Just a year ago, Miroslav Klose similarly corrected a referee decision and had a Lazio goal called back because he used his hand in the process:

  1. meinbayern reblogged this from foxsoccer
  2. zachzurn reblogged this from foxsoccer
  3. yungb19 reblogged this from foxsoccer and added:
    That’s why I wanna move to Germany. 😂
  4. runningjust2catchmyself reblogged this from foxsoccer
  5. regal3pnt8 reblogged this from foxsoccer
  6. naidarrell reblogged this from foxsoccer
  7. tht-motherfucker-oscar reblogged this from foxsoccer
  8. foxsoccer posted this